Intersting. In a good way.
Hot, I saw some serious malty beer notes. I quite enjoyed that even though it was a tad weak. So I let the bag sit for an extra twenty seconds? maybe thirty? (as per my timer) and a slight bitter note emerged. I’ll have to pay attention next time and find my optimal time.
Now, that bitter note IS very remnicent of beer. And I love beer, just not exceptionally hoppy ones. I tend to enjoy the lighter varieties, which are about as far away from Guinness as you can get. That said, once I got into my cup, towards the bottom, I found myself quite pleased with the bitter note. Perhaps my dislike for bitterness in beer is only present when the alcohol intensifies things, as that does tend to make it much stronger, and longer lasting in the aftertaste, for me. This requires further investigation. Colour me intrigued. As for the rest of the tea notes, beyond malt and bitterness, the green tea note hung around in the background. I can’t say much more about that at the moment, but I hope to one day soon.
Oh! also, for anyone who has been diagnosed with Celiac Disease, a good friend of mine has it, and she cannot have most beers, but for some reason, Guinness gives her absolutely no trouble. I looked it up, and apparently Guinness has no wheat in it, but it does have Barley, and the strain they use doesn’t have gluten, just a “gluten like molecule” which appears not to trigger any symptoms. I know there are a bunch of true GF beers out there as well, but I’ve heard they aren’t very satisfying. Sorry for the ramble. I find this all rather fascinating.
Comments
I have two teas in my collection of teas that are not Gluten Free – this is one of them because it does have barley. The other tea – I don’t know for sure if it is gluten free or not – is the Pineapple Bacon Rooibos. I used vegan bacon bits in the blend and I don’t know for sure that they are gluten free. The packaging did not say and I’ve been unsuccessful at contacting someone who can tell me for certain that the bacon bits are gluten free so I can’t say for certain.
Anyway – those with Celiac Disease should NOT drink this tea or the Pineapple Bacon. The other teas are gluten free!
Interesting about the bacon! Apparently a product needs to have less than 20ppm (parts per million) gluten particles in order to be considered “gluten free” and Barley, or rather most strains of it, tend to sit right at 20ppm. Of course there is never a guarantee either way unless you test the particular strain. Such a shame that it sits on the cusp like that. I adore Barley, and feel for anyone denied!!
Thanks for the clarification.
(also want to note that my Guinness geekery was in no way meant to say gluten free people should drink this tea; Guinness tested their barley at great expense, which I would never expect anyone to take on- those spinny machines that test are exorbitantly expensive)
I don’t use smoke flavor – any “smoke” that is part of my teas is derived from the pine-smoked Lapsang Souchong – not a flavoring. :)
I have two teas in my collection of teas that are not Gluten Free – this is one of them because it does have barley. The other tea – I don’t know for sure if it is gluten free or not – is the Pineapple Bacon Rooibos. I used vegan bacon bits in the blend and I don’t know for sure that they are gluten free. The packaging did not say and I’ve been unsuccessful at contacting someone who can tell me for certain that the bacon bits are gluten free so I can’t say for certain.
Anyway – those with Celiac Disease should NOT drink this tea or the Pineapple Bacon. The other teas are gluten free!
Interesting about the bacon! Apparently a product needs to have less than 20ppm (parts per million) gluten particles in order to be considered “gluten free” and Barley, or rather most strains of it, tend to sit right at 20ppm. Of course there is never a guarantee either way unless you test the particular strain. Such a shame that it sits on the cusp like that. I adore Barley, and feel for anyone denied!!
Thanks for the clarification.
(also want to note that my Guinness geekery was in no way meant to say gluten free people should drink this tea; Guinness tested their barley at great expense, which I would never expect anyone to take on- those spinny machines that test are exorbitantly expensive)
52Teas, I’ve heard that smoke flavour contains gluten. Does that ever make its way into your teas?
I don’t use smoke flavor – any “smoke” that is part of my teas is derived from the pine-smoked Lapsang Souchong – not a flavoring. :)
Mmmmm pine… :P